Antigua and Barbuda

               10 Nov 1493  Antigua discovered and claimed by Spain by Christopher
                            Columbus, named Isla de Santa Maria de la Antigua
               11 Nov 1493  Barbuda and Redonda discovered by Christopher Colombus
                            as Isla Dulcina and Santa Maria la Redonda (Saint Mary
                            the round) respectively
               1628         English colony of Barbuda
               1632         English colony of Antigua, Barbuda becomes a
                            dependency of Antigua
               1663         English crown colony of Antigua
               1666         The village of Codrington established in Barbuda
 03 Nov 1666 - May 1667     French occupation of Antigua
    Jan 1671 - 16 Oct 1816  part of Leeward Islands colony (Antigua, Barbuda,
                            Montserrat, Saint Christopher, Nevis, Anguilla and
                            Dominica [to 1770]
               1678         Barbuda an English colony
 09 Jan 1685 - 1870         Barbuda leased to Codrington family by the crown
        1816 - 1832         Part of Antigua-Barbuda-Montserrat colony
        1833 - 01 Jan 1960  part of Leeward Islands (Antigua, British Virgin
                            Islands, Dominica [to 1940], Montserrat, Saint
               01 Aug 1860  Barbuda united with Antigua
                  Jun 1865  Kingdom of Redonda proclaimed by Matthew Dowdy Shiel,
                            not recognized by UK.
                  Jun 1871  Antigua part of Federal Colony of Leewards Islands
               26 Mar 1872  Redonda annexed by Britain; incorporated with Antigua
               01 Jul 1956  Antigua part of Territory of Leewards Islands
               30 Jun 1956  Antigua becomes a separate colony
 03 Jan 1958 - 31 May 1962  Antigua becomes part of Federation of the West Indies
                            under Trinidad and Tobago
               27 Feb 1967  associated state. Redonda as dependency of Antigua
               23 Dec 1976  Barbuda Local Government Act grants limited autonomy
               01 Oct 1980  Barbuda attempts secession from Antigua but fails
               01 Nov 1981  Independence as Antigua and Barbuda. Redonda as

Antigua and Barbuda has an area of 170 sq. mi. (440 sq. km.) with capital: Saint John's. Prior to 1967, Antigua and its dependencies Barbuda and Redonda, comprised a presidency of the Leeward Islands. The mountainous island produces sugar, molasses, rum, cotton and fruits.

Antigua was discovered by Columbus in 1493, settled by British colonists from Saint Kitts in 1632. It was occupied by the French in 1666, and ceded to Britain in 1667. It became an associate state with internal self-government on February 27, 1967. On November 1, 1981 it became independent as Antigua and Barbuda. As a constitutional monarchy, Elizabeth II is Queen of Antigua and Barbuda and Head of State. Antigua and Barbuda is a member of the commonwealth of Nations.

  • Claimed by Spain.................................10 Nov 1493 - 1632
  • Great Britain...........................................1632 - 03 Nov 1666
  • France...........................................03 Nov 1666 - May 1667
  • Great Britain (Barbuda occupied 1678)...............May 1667 - 1973
  • Self-governing dependency...............................1973 - 01 Nov 1981
  • Governor of Antigua
  • Sir Wilfred Ebenezer Jacobs......................27 Feb 1967 - 01 Nov 1981
  • Governor-General of Antigua and Barbuda - representing the British monarch as head of state
  • Sir Wilfred Ebenezer Jacobs (continued)..........01 Nov 1981 - 10 Jun 1993
  • James Beethoven Carlisle.........................10 Jun 1993 - 17 Jul 2007
  • from 09 Nov 1993, Sir James Beethoven Carlisle.
  • Louise Agnetha Lake-Tack (female)................17 Jul 2007 - 13 Aug 2014
  • from 17 Oct 2007, Dame Louise Agnetha Lake-Tack.
  • Rodney Williams..................................14 Aug 2014 - date
Monetary standard: East Caribbean Dollar = 100 cents 

Spanish silver coinage and French colonial "Black Dogs" were used throughout the island's early history; however, late in the seventeenth century in the introduction of British tin farthings was attempted with complete lack of success. In 1822, British colonial Anchor Money was introduced. From 1825 to 1955, Antigua was on the sterling standard and used British coins. Coins of the British Caribbean Territories (Eastern Group) and East Caribbean States circulated from 1955. East Caribbean Currency Authority banknotes are now used on the island. The early coinage was augmented by that of the East Caribbean States in 1981.

The East Caribbean dollar (sign: $; code: XCD) is the currency of eight of the nine members of the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (the one exception being the British Virgin Islands). It has existed since 1965, being the successor to the British West Indies dollar, and it is normally abbreviated with the dollar sign $ or, alternatively, EC$ to distinguish it from other dollar-denominated currencies. The EC$ is subdivided into 100 cents. It has been pegged to the United States dollar since July 07, 1976 and the exchange rate is US$1 = EC$2.70. Six of the states using the EC$ are independent states: Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines. The other two are British overseas territories: Anguilla and Montserrat. Commemorative coins were produced by Antigua and Barbuda  in 1970, 1982, 1985 and 1988.

KM#1 4 Dollars. Year: 1970. Weight: 28.30 grams. Metal: Copper-Nickel. Edge: Reeded. Diameter: 38.50 mm. Alignment: Medal. Mint: British Royal Mint. Obverse: Antigua Coat and Arms with Motto: "Each Endeavouring All Achieving". Date and "ANTIGUA" below it. "INAUGURATION OF THE CARIBBEAN DEVELOPMENT BANK" around. Reverse: Sugar cane and Banana tree branches in the center. "GROW MORE FOOD FOR MANKIND" on the top part and value "4 DOLLARS" at the bottom. F.A.O issue. Mintage: 16,000 (including 2,000 proof pieces). Minted Years: One year type. British Antigua Governor: Sir Wilfred Ebenzer Jacobs (27 Feb 1967 - 01 Nov 1981) under British monarch: Elizabeth II [Elizabeth Alexandra Mary Windsor].

KM#6 100 Dollars. Year: 1988. Weight: 129.59 grams. Metal: .925 Silver. Diameter: 63.00 mm. Edge: Reeded. Alignment: Medal. Mint: British Royal Mint. Obverse: Coat and Arms in circle - with Motto: "Each Endeavouring All Achieving" within the center circle. "ANTIGUA & BARBUDA" above the center circle and date at the bottom. Reverse: Tropical Bird: Cattle Egret. "ONE HUNDRED DOLLARS" written at the top. Mintage: 10,000 (estimated). Minted Years: One year type. Governor-General: Sir Wilfred Ebenzer Jacobs (01 Nov 1981 - 10 Jun 1993) representing British monarch: Elizabeth II [Elizabeth Alexandra Mary Windsor].
Countries / Territories
Chiefa Coins