USA Coinage: 1849 - 1850
under President: Zachary Taylor
Zachary Taylor (November 24, 1784 – July 09, 1850) was the 12th President of the United States, serving from March 1849 until his death in July 1850. Before his presidency, Taylor was a career officer in the United States Army, rising to the rank of major general. Taylor's status as a national hero as a result of his victories in the Mexican–American War won him election to the White House despite his vague political beliefs. His top priority as president was preserving the Union, but he died sixteen months into his term, before making any progress on the status of slavery, which had been inflaming tensions in Congress. He is the first and only President to come from Louisiana.
The Whig Party convinced the reluctant Taylor to lead their ticket in the 1848 presidential election, despite his unclear political beliefs and lack of interest in politics. At the 1848 Whig National Convention, Taylor defeated Scott and former Senator Henry Clay to take the nomination. He won the general election alongside New York politician Millard Fillmore, defeating Democratic Party candidates Lewis Cass and William Orlando Butler, as well as a third-party effort led by former President Martin Van Buren and Charles Francis Adams, Sr. of the Free Soil Party. Taylor became the first President to be elected with no prior office.
Despite treatment of cholera, Taylor died at 10:35 p.m. on July 09, 1850. He was 65 years old. After his death, Vice President Fillmore assumed the presidency and completed Taylor's term, which ended on March 04, 1853.
Currency: Dollar = 100 cents
Monetary System: Penny = Cent, Trime = 3 Cents, Nickel = 5 Cents, Dime = 10 Cents, Quarter = 25 Cents, Half Dollar = 50, Cents, Dollar = 100 Cents, Quarter Eagle = $2.50 Gold, Stella = $4.00 Gold, Half Eagle = $5.00 Gold, Eagle = $10.00 Gold and Double Eagle = $20.00 Gold.
Mint Marks:
C – Charlotte, N.C., 1838-1861.
CC – Carson City, NV, 1870-1893.
D – Dahlonega, GA, 1838-1861.
D – Denver, CO, 1906-present.
O – New Orleans, LA, 1838-1909.
P – Philadelphia, PA, 1793-present (coins without mintmark also belongs to Philadelphia).
S – San Francisco, CA, 1854-present.
W – West Point, NY, 1984-present.



KM#63.2 Dime (10 cents). Year: 1850O. Weight: 2.55 g [2.67 g]. Metal: 0.900 Silver. Diameter: 17.90 mm. Edge: Reeded. Alignment: Coin. Mint: New Orleans, USA. Obverse: Sitting Liberty on shield facing left in the center. Phrygian hat on stick. 13 stars around the liberty head in top section. Date written at the bottom. KM#63.2 type has Drapery added to Liberty's left elbow.

Reverse: "UNITED STATES OF AMERICA" in circular form outside the wreath. "ONE DIME" written in the center surrounded with wreath. Mintage: 510,000. Mintage Years: 1840, 1841, 1841O, 1841O, 1842, 1842O, 1843, 1843/1843, 1843O, 1844, 1845, 1845/1845, 1845O, 1846, 1847, 1848, 1849, 1849O, 1850, 1850O, 1851, 1851O, 1852, 1852O and 1853. Engraver: Christian Gobrecht (both sides). This coin is commonly known by coin collectors as "Seated Liberty Dime with stars but no arrows". The "O" mintmark is below M in DIME and above the wreath knot.

Christian Gobrecht (December 23, 1785 – July 23, 1844) was the third Chief Engraver of the United States Mint from December 21, 1840 until his death in July 23, 1844. He was responsible for designing the famous "Seated Liberty" designs, which were in turn the direct inspiration for the design of the Trade Dollar. He also designed the Gobrecht Dollar, which was struck in small quantities from 1836 to 1838 and later inspired the Flying Eagle cent.

View below links on coins issued during the Presidential rulers of United States:
Countries / Territories
Chiefa Coins