United Arab Emirates

               09 Dec 1819  British forces begin suppressing piracy along the "Pirate
 08 Jan 1820 - 15 Mar 1820  General Maritime Treaty between the local sheikhs and Britain.
1853         Named the Trucial States (also known as Trucial Oman) after
                             1853 Perpetual Maritime Truce.

 08 Mar 1892 - 01 Dec 1971  British protectorate of Trucial States or Trucial Oman.
1939         British resident established in the Trucial States at Dubai.
18 Jul 1971  Provisional formation of Federation of Arab Emirates (Trucial
                             States together with Bahrain and Qatar).
               02 Dec 1971  Federation of six states as United Arab Emirates (Abu Dhabi,
                             Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Sharjah, and Umm al-Qaiwain).
11 Feb 1972  Accession of Ras al-Khaimah.
For earlier coinage and rulers of United Arab Emirates, refer to following Emirates.
Click below on earlier coinage of British India used in various parts of UAE:
  • East India Company (inc. William IV and Victoria)16 Aug 1765 - 30 Sep 1858
  • Victoria.........................................01 Nov 1858 - 22 Jan 1901
  • Edward VII.......................................22 Jan 1901 - 06 May 1910
  • George V.........................................06 May 1910 - 20 Jan 1936
  • George VI........................................12 Dec 1936 - 15 Aug 1947
UNITED ARAB EMIRATES - The city of Abu Dhabi currently serves as the capital of this Federation. Ajman has three parts, Dubai has two part, Fujairah has fours parts, Ras Al Khaimah has two parts and Sharjah has five parts including Nahwa enclave within UAE.
Currency: Before the formation of UAE and independence of other Gulf states in 1971, Indian Rupee and Gulf Rupee were commonly used in this region. In the early to mid 20th century, the Indian Rupee was extensively used as currency in the countries of the Persian Gulf and Arabian Peninsula. To reduce the strain put on India's foreign reserves by gold smuggling caused by this external use of the rupee, a separate currency was created. The Gulf rupee was introduced by the Indian government in 1959 as a replacement for the Indian Rupee, for circulation exclusively outside the country. At the time, the Indian Rupee was pegged to the British Pound at a rate of 13⅓ rupees = 1 pound. Two states, Kuwait and Bahrain, replaced the Gulf Rupee with their own currencies (the Kuwaiti Dinar and the Bahraini Dinar) after gaining independence from Britain in 1961 and 1965, respectively. Kuwaiti Dinar was equal to 13⅓ Rupees or 1 British Pound and Bahrani Dinar became equal to 10 Rupees or 0.75 British Pound. On 06 June 1966, India devalued the Rupee. To avoid following this devaluation, several of the states using the Rupee adopted their own currencies. Qatar and most of the Trucial States adopted the Qatar and Dubai Riyal, whilst Abu Dhabi adopted the Bahraini Dinar. Federation of six states as United Arab Emirates (Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Sharjah, and Umm al-Qaiwain) was formed on 02nd Dec 1971 as an independent country. Ras al-Khaimah later also joined this federation on 11 Feb 1972. In 1973 United Arab Emirate Dirham was introduced which is pegged with US Dollar.
Coins of UAE can be viewed by clicking the links below, sorted yearly according to respective Presidential rule.
Territorial Disputes: The United Arab Emirate 2006 Yearbook published a map and text rescinding the 1974 boundary with Saudi Arabia, as stipulated in a treaty filed with the UN in 1993, on the grounds that the agreement was not formally ratified; boundary agreement was signed and ratified with Oman in 2003 for entire border, including Oman's Musandam Peninsula and Al Madhah enclaves, but contents of the agreement and maps showing the alignment have not been published; Iran and UAE dispute Tunb Islands and Abu Musa Island, which Iran occupies; UAE engage direct talks and Arab League support to resolve Iran's occupation of Greater Tunb Island (called Tunb al Kubra in Arabic by UAE and Jazireh-ye Tonb-e Bozorg in Persian by Iran) and Lesser Tunb Island since 30 Nov 1971 (called Tunb as Sughra in Arabic by UAE and Jazireh-ye Tonb-e Kuchek in Persian by Iran) and attempts to occupy completely a jointly administered island in the Persian Gulf (called Abu Musa in Arabic by UAE and Jazireh-ye Abu Musa in Persian by Iran).
Countries / Territories
Chiefa Coins