India Coinage: 1969 - 1973
under President: Varahagiri Venkata Giri
The Indian rupee (sign: ₹; code: INR) is the official currency of the Republic of India. The rupee is subdivided into 100 paise (singular paisa), though as of 2018, coins of denomination of 100 paise or one rupee is the lowest value coin in use. The issuance of the currency is controlled by the Reserve Bank of India. The Reserve Bank manages currency in India and derives its role in currency management on the basis of the Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934. The rupee is named after the silver coin, rupiya, first issued by Sultan Sher Shah Suri in the 16th century and later continued by the Mughal Empire.
Mint Marks:
B - Mumbai (Bombay), proof issues only (1969 until 1995)
(B) - Mumbai (Bombay), diamond
C – Ottawa (1985 25 Paise; 1988 10, 25 & 50 Paise)
(C) – Kolkata (Calcutta) no mint mark
H - Birmingham (1985 Rupee only)
(H) - Hyderabad, star (1963)
(Hd) - Hyderabad, diamond split vertically (1953-1960)
(Hy) - Hyderabad, incuse dot in diamond (1960-1968)
(K) - Kremnica, Slovakia, MK in circle
(L) – British Royal Mint, Llantrisant (1985 rupee only), diamond below first date digit(Ld) – British Royal Mint
Llantrisant, tower, looks like a bridge
M - Mumbai (Bombay), proof only starting 1996
(M) - Mexico City, M beneath O
(N) - Noida, dot
(P) - Pretoria, M in oval
(R) – Moscow, MMD in oval
(T) - Taegu (Korea), star below first or last date (1997 and 1998 2 Rupees only)

From 1950 through 1964 the Republic of India proof coins carry the regular diamond mint mark and can be distinguished from circulation issues only by their proof-like finish. From 1969 proofs carry the capital “B” mint mark. Some Bombay issues after 1969 have a “proof-like” appearance although bearing the diamond mint mark of circulation issues. Beginning in 1972 proofs of the larger denominations - 10, 20 and 100 rupees -were partly frosted on their main features, including numerals. From 1975 all proofs were similarly frosted, from the 1 paisa to 100 rupees. Proof-like issues are often erroneously offered as proofs.

Early Indian coins:

British India coins:

Coins of Indian Princely States and other colonies:

Coins of "Republic of India" sorted under below Presidential rulers:



Free website hit counter

Countries / Territories
Chiefa Coins